Submission Information

Submissions for the 2019 Dirtbag Festival are now open.
Click here for more information!

DIRTBAG FILM FESTIVAL – Submissions Close March 17, 2019

Thank you for your interest in submitting your work for the Dirtbag Festival. We are now accepting submissions in film and slideshow categories as well as photo submissions for the Community Slideshow. Click here for film submission guidelines.

2019 Prizes

Best in Show (Judged) – $1000
Favorite Film (Judged) – $250
Favorite Slideshow (Judged) – $250
Best Local Flavor (Judged) – $250 (All Kimberley/Cranbrook entries qualify)

Viewer’s Choice (Fan Voting) –  $250

Runner up prizes in each category thanks to our sponsors: swag, gift certificates and more…

2019 COMMUNITY SHOW – Submissions Close March 31

The Community Slideshow is a highlight of the Dirtbag Festival. Whether you’re an aspiring Dirtbag or career vagabond, the images highlight life in Kimberley and the Kootenays. From the people to places, activities and adventures of all sizes, from the silly to the serious… they all have a home in the Community Show.

The rules are simple. Pick your favorite 3 photos and send them to us!!! Prizes, fame and glory to our winners, er…um, just not sure how we’re going to pick 😉
Email submissions to


2018  Prizes
Best in Show – Leah Evans & Jamie Tanner – Cabin Jams
Favorite Film – Benjamin Jordan – Strong the Wind Blows
Favorite Slideshow – Neal Weisenberg – Naturally Inspired
Favorite Local Film  – Shawn Emmett – Purcell Traverse
Viewers Choice – Benjamin Jordan – Strong the Wind Blows

2017  Prizes
Best in Show – Tommy Day – At What Price
Favorite Film – Sherpas Cinema – Ashes to Agassiz
Favorite Slideshow – Drew Lieterman – 2016
Viewers Choice – Renzo Bustamante – Capitulos

2016 Film Prizes
T1 – Dan Clark – Familia Cyclista
T1 – Steve Ogle – True North
3 – Dan Clark – Together Across the Tundra